# Canadian Association of Slavists Annual Meeting Minutes Brock University 25 May 2014

### Call to Order

The AGM was called to order at 15:00. A quorum was confirmed.

# Approval of minutes

The minutes for the previous meeting, at the AGM in Victoria, BC, in May 2013, were unanimously approved.

# **Reports**

Reports by the Treasurer, the co-chair of the Program Committee, as well as the Editor of the *Canadian Slavonic Papers*, were presented and approved by unanimous vote.

#### **Nominations**

The chair of the nominations committee proposed a list of positions for 2015-16. Including one amendment, the membership unanimously approved this slate:

Honorary President: Maxim Tarnawski President: Elena Baraban

Program Ctee: (2015) Volha Isakava & Arkadi Klioutchanski

(2016) Elena Bratishenko

Nominating Ctee: Megan Swift (Chair), Volha Isakava, Bohdan Harasymiw

ICCEES Rep: Andrii Krawchuk Int'l Relations: Natalia Pylypiuk Grad Student Rep: Dorotha Lockyer

Members-at-Large: Tatiana Rizova, Arkadi Klioutchanski, Serhy Yekelchyk, Tristan Landry,

Tim Ormond, Eugene Miakinkov, Anastasiya Salnykova, Ross Bilous

## **Book Prize**

Nigel Raab proposed that an annual book prize be established. Including an amendment, the membership unanimously passes a motion to institute the award according to these rules:

- 1. The entry must be a substantial book. Textbooks in the strict sense of the word do not qualify, but a broad interpretive work of a major period or area qualifies. Smaller works such as pamphlets or edited efforts such as anthologies are not eligible.
- 2. The book can be published in French or English
- 3. Books bearing an imprint of 2014 are eligible for the 2015 prize.
- 4. The author must be a citizen or permanent resident of Canada.
- 5. The submission of an entry can come from an author, a third party or a publisher. There is no limit on the number of entries a publisher may submit

6. One copy of each entry must be sent to each of the following committee members: Nigel Raab (Chair), Joanna Survilla and Tatiana Rizova. Entries must be postmarked by or on MAY 15, 2015, to be eligible for the 2015 competition.

## **ICCEES**

The ICCEES representative reminded members of the upcoming quinquennial world congress, which will be held in Makahuri, Japan, 3-8 August 2015. He went on to ask whether the CAS might be interested in submitting a proposal to host the next conference, in 2020. Alison Rowley and David Schimmelpenninck van der Oye offered to put together an application to hold one in Montréal.

Chancelperine de 18 Pe

# Adjournment

The meeting was adjourned at 16:25.

Respectfully submitted,

David Schimmelpenninck van der Oye